© 2024 Louisville Public Media

Public Files:
89.3 WFPL · 90.5 WUOL-FM · 91.9 WFPK

For assistance accessing our public files, please contact info@lpm.org or call 502-814-6500
89.3 WFPL News | 90.5 WUOL Classical 91.9 WFPK Music | KyCIR Investigations
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Stream: News Music Classical

See how each precinct voted in Louisville's mayoral primary elections

An interactive map on how each precinct voted in the 2022 Democratic Party primary election for mayor.

Businessman Craig Greenberg secured the Democratic nomination to be Louisville's next mayor during this week's primary election. He'll face Republican Bill Dieruf, currently the mayor of suburban Jeffersontown, during the General Election in November.

Greenberg received 41% of the vote, besting seven other Democratic contenders. Runner-up Shameka Parrish-Wright,  manager of the Louisville Bail Project, got 22% of the vote, and Rev. Tim Findley Jr. got 15%.

According to a precinct-level breakdown of how Louisville Democrats voted during the primary, Greenberg cobbled together support from a wide swath of suburban and exurban Jefferson County, while still picking up a handful of precincts in densely populated west and central parts of town.

Parrish-Wright's support was centralized in downtown neighborhoods, especially Germantown, Russell, Shelby Park, Old Louisville and Clifton.

Findley performed well in the west Louisville neighborhoods of Shawnee, Parkland and Portland.

Explore the Democratic results in the map below:

Initial Democratic primary results, per the Jefferson County Clerk's office:

  • Craig Greenberg: 41%
    Shameka Parrish-Wright: 22%
    David Nicholson: 17%
    Tim Findley Jr.: 15%
    Sergio Lopez: 2%
    Colin Hardin: 1%
    Skylar Graudick: 1%
    Anthony Oxendine: 0.4%

Louisville voters haven't elected a Republican mayor since 1965, but GOP supporters hope the retirement of term-limited Mayor Greg Fischer will give them a chance during an open election.

Still, Democrats outnumber Republicans by about 2-to-1 in Jefferson County.

Jeffersontown Mayor Bill Dieruf coasted to victory during the Republican mayoral primary election, garnering 78% of the vote and sweeping nearly all precincts in the metro area.

Explore the Republican results in the map below:

Initial Republican primary results, per the Jefferson County Clerk's office:

  • Bill Dieruf: 78%
  • Chartrael Hall: 11%
  • Phillip Molestina: 6%
  • Rob Stark Reishman Jr.: 5%
Justin is LPM's Data Reporter. Email Justin at jhicks@lpm.org.

Can we count on your support?

Louisville Public Media depends on donations from members – generous people like you – for the majority of our funding. You can help make the next story possible with a donation of $10 or $20. We'll put your gift to work providing news and music for our diverse community.