© 2024 Louisville Public Media

Public Files:
89.3 WFPL · 90.5 WUOL-FM · 91.9 WFPK

For assistance accessing our public files, please contact info@lpm.org or call 502-814-6500
89.3 WFPL News | 90.5 WUOL Classical 91.9 WFPK Music | KyCIR Investigations
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Stream: News Music Classical

Matt Bevin is Running for Kentucky Governor

Matt Bevin, who last year launched a failed primary challenge against U.S. Sen. Mitch McConnell, has entered the Republican gubernatorial primary.

Bevin, a Louisville businessman identified with the tea party movement, formally filed the needed paperwork on Tuesday with a little more than an hour to spare before the filing deadline. His running mate is Jenean Hampton, a Bowling Green Republican also identified with the tea party.

Last year, Hampton unsuccessfully challenged longtime Democratic state Rep. Jody Richards.

In last year's bid for the Republican Senate Nomination, Bevin's campaign spent $5.3 million; he loaned $1.6 million to the effort, The Washington Post reported.

Bevin won 35 percent of the 2014 primary vote.

Bevin made the Republican race a little more crowded in advance of the May 19 primary election. He joins Agriculture Commissioner James Comer, Louisville businessman Hal Heiner and former Supreme Court Justice Will T. Scott.

On the Democratic side, Kentucky Attorney General Jack Conway will face off against retired engineer Geoff Young.

A few other late filings came in this week, most notably in the race for Secretary of State. Alison Lundergan Grimes announced Monday she would run to be re-elected to her position. She will face Charles Lovett of Louisville in the Democratic primary. Republican Stephen Knipper will race against Michael Pitzer for the GOP nomination.

Here's the full list of candidates for the Kentucky statewide primary elections:

Governor/ Lieutenant Governor

Jack Conway/ Sannie Overly (D)

Geoff Young/ Johnathan D. Masters* (D)

Matt Bevin/Jenean Hampton (R)

James Comer/ Chris McDaniel (R)

Will T. Scott/ Rodney Coffey (R)

Hal Heiner/ KC Crosbie (R)

Attorney General

Andy Beshear (D)

Michael T. Hogan (R)

Whitney H. Westerfield (R)

State Treasurer

Neville Blakemore (D)

Jim Glenn (D)

Daniel Grossberg (D)

Richard Henderson (D)

Rick Nelson (D)

Allison Ball (R)

Kenneth Imes (R)

Jon Larson (R)

Secretary of State

Alison Lundergan Grimes (D)

Charles Lovett (D)

Stephen Knipper (R)

Michael Pitzeer (R)

State Auditor

Adam Edelen (D)

Mike Harmon (R)

Commissioner of Agriculture

Jean-Marie Lawson Spann (D)

Richard Heath (R)

Ryan Quarles (R)

Justice of the Supreme Court

John Lewis

Janet Stumbo

Sam Wright

Clarification: Young originally announced his running mate would be with Cherokee Schill, but later changed it. 

Can we count on your support?

Louisville Public Media depends on donations from members – generous people like you – for the majority of our funding. You can help make the next story possible with a donation of $10 or $20. We'll put your gift to work providing news and music for our diverse community.