© 2024 Louisville Public Media

Public Files:
89.3 WFPL · 90.5 WUOL-FM · 91.9 WFPK

For assistance accessing our public files, please contact info@lpm.org or call 502-814-6500
89.3 WFPL News | 90.5 WUOL Classical 91.9 WFPK Music | KyCIR Investigations
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Stream: News Music Classical

Louisville Public Media Welcomes New Board Members

(Louisville, KY—June 25, 2014) Louisville Public Media (LPM) welcomes Dr. Muhammad Babar, S. Brandon Coan, John La Barbera, Mike Mays, Mary Lea Quick and Becky Simpson as new members to the Board of Directors. The LPM Board of Directors acts as stewards of a public trust to ensure the long-term financial stability, sustainable growth, and value of the organization.

Dr. Muhammad Babar is a physician certified in internal, geriatric and palliative medicine, and is the current medical director of Oaklawn Nursing Home and Jefferson Place Nursing Home. He is the past president of the medical staff at Jewish Hospital and St. Mary’s HealthCare (KentuckyOne Health). He is Past President of the Association of Pakistani Physicians of Kentucky and Indiana (AAPKI) and serves on the board of directors of Center for Interfaith Relations and Fund for the Arts. He is a 2014 graduate of Leadership Louisville.


S. Brandon Coan is Owner and manager of Local Interest Consulting, LLC. Coan has served on a number of boards including the Norton Foundation, Brightside, and the Kentucky School of Art. He is a political professional, attorney and is a 2011 graduate of Leadership Louisville Center's Bingham Fellows.


John La Barbera is a Grammy-nominated composer and arranger in the field of jazz and contemporary music. He is a professor emeritus at University of Louisville School of Music and a two time recipient of the National Endowment for the Arts award for Jazz Composition.

Mike Mays is President and co-founder of Heine Brothers' Coffee.  Mike is on the boards of The Olmsted Parks Conservancy and Cooperative Coffees, and he was a founding board member of the Louisville Independent Business Alliance.


Mary Lea Quick is Director of Qualitative Research for Thoroughbred Research Group. She was the president and owner of MRK Research, which merged with Thoroughbred Research Group in 2008. She has served on the Brightside Board of Directors and the Gallopalooza Board.  She is a graduate of Leadership Louisville and Bingham Fellows.

Rebecca Simpson is Senior Associate Vice President of Communications and Marketing for the University of Louisville. She previously served as Owner and CEO of New West Advertising and Public Relations. She has served on numerous boards including National Safe Place, GLI’s board and executive committee, Cathedral Heritage Foundation, University of Louisville Board of Overseers and as a trustee for Georgetown College.  She is also a graduate of Leadership Kentucky.




Can we count on your support?

Louisville Public Media depends on donations from members – generous people like you – for the majority of our funding. You can help make the next story possible with a donation of $10 or $20. We'll put your gift to work providing news and music for our diverse community.