© 2024 Louisville Public Media

Public Files:
89.3 WFPL · 90.5 WUOL-FM · 91.9 WFPK

For assistance accessing our public files, please contact info@lpm.org or call 502-814-6500
89.3 WFPL News | 90.5 WUOL Classical 91.9 WFPK Music | KyCIR Investigations
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Stream: News Music Classical

89.3 WFPL Receives 29 Journalism Awards

89.3 WFPL has been honored with 15 awards from the Kentucky Associated Press Broadcasters Association, including three first-place prizes, and eight Indiana AP Broadcasters awards, with four first-place honors. Kentucky Public Radio Frankfort Bureau Chief Tony McVeigh received six Kentucky AP awards, including two first-place honors. Tony reports for WFPL and Kentucky’s six other public radio stations.“We’re very proud of our news team,” said WFPL News Director Rick Howlett. “This is recognition of their hard work and our station’s commitment to covering the important issues in the region.”The 2010 Kentucky AP Awards were announced April 8 in Lexington:First Place, Class One (large market)Best Use of Sound: Elizabeth Kramer “Resurgence of Church Organs”Best Web Site: WFPL StaffBest Sports Reporting: Stephanie Crosby and Rick Howlett “Rick Pitino”Best Hard News Feature: Tony McVeigh (KPR) “Steve Nunn”Best Political Coverage: Tony McVeigh (KPR) “Speaker Stumbo”Second Place:Best Special Series/Documentary: State of Affairs “Gay History-Louisville”Public Affairs: State of Affairs “Employee Free Choice Act”Best Hard News Feature (Tie): Stephanie Crosby “Tobacco for Good” and Elizabeth Kramer: “Charter Schools”Best Continuing Coverage (Tie): WFPL Staff “Flood Aftermath” and Gabe Bullard and Rick Howlett “Football Coach Trial”Best Enterprise/Investigative: Kristin Espeland Gourlay “Biomass Energy”Best Light News Feature: Elizabeth Kramer “Teaching Deaf Children to Sing”Best Newscast: WFPL StaffHonorable Mention:Best Radio Anchor: Susan Sweeney CrumBest Political Coverage: Gabe Bullard “Jim Bunning’s Senate Seat”Best Special Series/Documentary: Kristin Espeland Gourlay “Carbon Capture”Best Light News Feature: Tony McVeigh (KPR) “Grand Theatre”Best Enterprise/Investigative: Tony McVeigh (KPR) “Helmet Law”Best Continuing Coverage: Tony McVeigh (KPR) “Beshear Strategy”Best Radio Reporter: Tony McVeigh (KPR)The 2010 Indiana AP Awards were presented April 10 in Indianapolis:First Place, Metro (large market)Feature Reporting: Elizabeth Kramer “Teaching Deaf Children to Sing”News Series: Kristin Espeland Gourlay “Carbon Capture”Public Affairs Program: State of Affairs “Employee Free Choice Act”Best Website: WFPL StaffSecond Place:General News: Gabe Bullard “Football Coach on Trial”Use of Sound: Elizabeth Kramer “Resurgence of Interest in Church Organs”Best Newscast (under 5 minutes) 8:00am news December 2, 2009Honorable Mention:Enterprise Reporting: Kristin Espeland Gourlay “Biomass”For more info, please contact Station Manager Todd Mundt at tmundt@louisvilllepublicmedia.org or 502.814.6500.

Can we count on your support?

Louisville Public Media depends on donations from members – generous people like you – for the majority of our funding. You can help make the next story possible with a donation of $10 or $20. We'll put your gift to work providing news and music for our diverse community.