© 2022 Louisville Public Media

Public Files:
89.3 WFPL · 90.5 WUOL-FM · 91.9 WFPK

For assistance accessing our public files, please contact info@lpm.org or call 502-814-6500
89.3 WFPL News | 90.5 WUOL Classical 91.9 WFPK Music | KyCIR Investigations
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Louisville Metro Council Seats Remain In Same Party Hands


All six Louisville Metro Council seats being challenged in Tuesday’s election remain in similar party hands, according to the results.

None of the four incumbent candidates who were challenged lost their seat. Those include council members in districts 5, 11, 17, and 21. Nine council candidates ran unopposed.

In District 9—which covers the Crescent Hill neighborhood—Democrat Bill Hollander won 61 percent of the vote over Republican challenger Laura Rice, who received 39 percent.

Hollander told WFPL he’d like to see an infrastructure plan for his district, and he supports raising the minimum wage.

“I think raising the minimum wage will lift people out of poverty. It will help the middle class and I think it will help the economy,” he said.

Hollander, who was vice chair of the Louisville Library Foundation, also said he’s very interested in early childhood education initiatives.

Hollander, who had Mayor Greg Fischer’s endorsement, will replace retiring incumbent Councilwoman Tina Ward-Pugh.

In District 7—which covers eastern Jefferson County —Republican Angela Leet bested Democrat Bruce Maples; neither candidate has ever held office before.

Leet, who will replace retiring incumbent Republican Councilman Ken Fleming, was not available for comment.

Here’s how the four challenged Metro Council district races turned out:

District 1: Democrat Jessica Green won her primary and ran unopposed.

District 5: Democrat incumbent Councilwoman Cheri Bryant-Hamilton won with 89 percent of the vote, besting Republican candidate John Owen.

District 11: Republican incumbent Councilman Kevin Kramer won with 57 percent of the vote, besting Democratic challenger and former JCPS school board member Larry Hujo who received 43 percent.

District 17: Republican incumbent Councilman Glen Stuckel won with 53 percent of the vote, besting Democratic challenger Susan Johns.

District 19: Republican Sen. Julie Denton ran unopposed.

District 21: Democratic incumbent Councilman Dan Johnson won with 66 percent of the vote, besting challenger John Witt.