© 2024 Louisville Public Media

Public Files:
89.3 WFPL · 90.5 WUOL-FM · 91.9 WFPK

For assistance accessing our public files, please contact info@lpm.org or call 502-814-6500
89.3 WFPL News | 90.5 WUOL Classical 91.9 WFPK Music | KyCIR Investigations
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Stream: News Music Classical

C-FAIR Makes Endorsements

The political arm of the Fairness Campaign, C-FAIR, has made its endorsements for school board, Metro Council, General Assembly and judicial races.In Metro Council races, the PAC supports incumbent Democratic councilmen Tom Owen, Rick Blackwell and Brent Ackerson and favors Democratic challenger Teague Ridge in District 18 against Tea Party favorite Marilyn Parker, who beat incumbent Jon Ackerson in the Republican primary in May. "Jon was a good ally," says C-FAIR board member and director of the Fairness Campaign Chris Hartman, "and we were sorry to lose him."In the Eighth District, the PAC endorsed Owen, but says his opponent Kirt Jacobs is "noteworthy for his parallel commitment to principles of Fairness and the issues most important to Highlands businesses and residents.""It's a great problem to have, that in many races, we see fairness-supporting Republicans who, all things being equal, could serve their constituents well also," says Hartman. Here are C-FAIR's endorsements and explanations in competitive races: David A. Jones, Jr. is the C-FAIR choice in Jefferson County School Board District 2 for his long history of service to the Louisville community, broad professional and business experience, and persuasive dedication to student achievement and diversity. Lloyd "Chip" White impressed the C-FAIR team with his strong union ties and years of work alongside a diverse team, inclusive of lesbian. gay, bisexual, and transgender people. With several children of his own--many foster and adoptive--Mr. White has a first-hand commitment to supporting children and all types of families, which makes him the outstanding choice for Jefferson County School Board District 4. Chris Brady is C-FAIR's recommendation for Jefferson County School Board District 7. A newcomer to politics, Mr. Brady, has served as a substitute teacher in JCPS and has two sons currently in the JCPS system. He will bring an invaluable parent's perspective to the board along with welcome expertise in technology management and infrastructure. Senator Perry Clark's reelection bid receives strong C-FAIR support for his bold co-sponsorship of statewide anti-discrimination Fairness laws and his stated commitment to equality for all Kentuckians. Representative Tom Burch (Kentucky House District 30), Representative Joni Jenkins (Kentucky House District 44) and Susan D. Johns (Kentucky House District 48), all champions of Fairness, receive solid C-FAIR endorsements. Councilman Tom Owen's long and distinguished record of progressive public service grants him another C-FAIR endorsement for Metro Council District 8. A University of Louisville historian, Dr. Owen knows Louisville, its history, and his constituent's needs as well as--or better--than anyone in Metro Government. Kirt Jacobs, the Republican candidate for Metro Council District 8, is noteworthy for his parallel commitment to principles of Fairness and the issues most important to Highlands businesses and residents. Councilman Rick Blackwell receives the C-FAIR endorsement once more for the Metro Council District 12. Endorsed by C-FAIR for nearly a decade, Councilman Blackwell has proven himself a strong friend of Fairness and labor. Teague Ridge for Metro Council District 18 has earned the C-FAIR endorsement for his comprehensive support of all our civil rights, social, and economic justice issues. A successful entrepreneur in a variety of businesses, Ridge possesses an intimate knowledge of and passionate commitment to the welfare of District 18 residents. Councilman Brent Ackerson is C-FAIR's choice for reelection to Metro Council District 26. In his tenure, Councilman Ackerson has maintained a fierce commitment to unionized labor and, most notably, LGBT family issues. He proposed an amendment to Metro Council statutes redefining "family" to be inclusive of same-gender households. Judge Irv Maze receives the C-FAIR nod for Kentucky Court of Appeals 4th Appellate District, 1st Division. Judge Maze's long-standing support of Fairness, alongside his wide range of experience in all three branches of government, makes him a strong, logical choice. Judge Angela McCormick Bisig's five years of experience as a civil litigator, six years as a prosecutor, and 10 years as a judge--including serving as Chief District Court Judge--makes her the best qualified and experienced candidate for the seat of Circuit Court Judge. She has a passion and dedication to the principles of Fairness and an avowed commitment to fair and equal justice for all participants in the judicial process.

Can we count on your support?

Louisville Public Media depends on donations from members – generous people like you – for the majority of our funding. You can help make the next story possible with a donation of $10 or $20. We'll put your gift to work providing news and music for our diverse community.