© 2024 Louisville Public Media

Public Files:
89.3 WFPL · 90.5 WUOL-FM · 91.9 WFPK

For assistance accessing our public files, please contact info@lpm.org or call 502-814-6500
89.3 WFPL News | 90.5 WUOL Classical 91.9 WFPK Music | KyCIR Investigations
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Stream: News Music Classical

Lambda Literary Foundation Honors Leung

Louisville novelist Brian Leung is the recipient of the  Lambda Literary Foundation’s outstanding mid-career novelist award. Lambda is the premiere organization honoring both individual books by and the careers of LGBT authors. Leung, the director of the University of Louisville’s creative writing program, is the author of one short story collection and two novels. His debut short story collection, “World Famous Love Acts,” was published by Louisville’s Sarabande Books. His latest novel is “Take Me Home,” an historical novel about the Wyoming mining settlements in the 19th century. Leung says the award lets him know that his career is on the right track, and that encouragement is particularly sweet coming from the LGBT community. “I was singled out with an Asian American Literary Award in 2005, and now this Lambda Literary Award, which kind of quote-singled me out in two distinct categories,” says Leung. “I feel honored because I’ve got two separate groups claiming me as their own, which makes me feel, I think, more whole.” Leung says the award is not only great encouragement for his career, but also recognition of the presence of a regional LGBT literary landscape. “Getting this award sort of speaks back to some of the negative cultural stereotypes that people in our region are given,” he says. “To have an LGBT author from Louisville, from the South, speaks volumes about the range of art our community actually offers.” Leung will receive his award at a star-studded ceremony in New York on June 4, where the organization’s annual book awards will also be announced. “Tales of the City” author Armistead Maupin and Kate Millett, author of “Sexual Politics,” will receive the Pioneer Award for their groundbreaking literary achievements.