© 2024 Louisville Public Media

Public Files:
89.3 WFPL · 90.5 WUOL-FM · 91.9 WFPK

For assistance accessing our public files, please contact info@lpm.org or call 502-814-6500
89.3 WFPL News | 90.5 WUOL Classical 91.9 WFPK Music | KyCIR Investigations
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Stream: News Music Classical

Louisville Public Media Launches Season 6 of ‘The Music Box’ Podcast

Louisville Public Media is proud to announce the newest season of “The Music Box,” an interactive music education podcast. This season is hosted by Kiana Del and Fiona Palensky. 

Season 6 explores fresh concepts including improvisation through history, exploration of elements of jazz and electronic music, and conversations with musicians who work in different areas of the music industry. Twelve episodes will be released weekly on Thursdays, beginning today.

Kiana Del is 90.5 WUOL’s Engagement Manager for Music Education. She is a vocalist, songwriter and educator from Carrollton, Ky. In her work, she strives to foster a safe and accessible space for people to create and learn together using music as a tool for storytelling and connection.

“This season we had the privilege of interviewing a recording engineer, a music producer, and a music therapist,” Del said. “I’m so excited for us to explore these musical careers together!”

Fiona Palensky is the Music Box podcast’s co-writer and co-producer. She is a multi-instrumentalist and composer specializing in the drum set. As an educator for more than six years, Fiona enjoys teaching students of all ages about her favorite things — music and nature.

“I’m most excited to make weird sounds together!” Palensky said. “I can’t wait to dive into the world of drum machines and take a look at synthesizers while we travel the galaxy!”

You can follow the show at MusicBoxPod.org or wherever you get your podcasts.

“The Music Box” is a production of Louisville Public Media with support from PNC and The Norton Foundation, with technical direction, editing and sound design by Alex Cooper and recording engineering by Eric Matthews. Daniel Gilliam is the executive producer, with special thanks to Kirsten Pfalzgraf, Laura Ellis, Gabrielle Jones and Angela Wilson.