© 2024 Louisville Public Media

Public Files:
89.3 WFPL · 90.5 WUOL-FM · 91.9 WFPK

For assistance accessing our public files, please contact info@lpm.org or call 502-814-6500
89.3 WFPL News | 90.5 WUOL Classical 91.9 WFPK Music | KyCIR Investigations
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Stream: News Music Classical

First Annual Louisville Music Awards ... Awarded

IdeaFestival'smusic arm, IF Music, kicked off yesterday with a series of industry panel discussions and wrapped with the first annual Louisville Music Awards ceremony at Headliner's Music Hall. Wax Fang took home top honors for song of the year with "The Blonde Leading the Blonde." Cheyenne Mize beat out a male-dominated field for singer/songwriter of the year, while Old Baby prevailed for rockers of the year. "Cover band of the year" might sound like the consolation prize to end all consolation prizes, but bourbon-inflected antique jazz ensemble Billy Goat Strut Revue (featuring WFPL's own Laura Ellis on vocals) set a pretty high standard with their first trophy. The winning acts were selected by an industry panel of 30 judges from more than 1,400 nominees submitted by the public. Check out the video for "The Blonde Leading the Blonde," directed by Jacob Heustis and Ryan Daly: In addition to artists who've had a big year, four late artists were honored with Louisville Legacy Awards: singer/songwriter Tim Krekel, Jason Noble (Rodan, Rachel's, Shipping News), country songwriter Chilton Price and Grammy Award-winning hip hop artist and producer Static Major, who worked with Li'l Wayne, Ginuwine and Aaliyah, among others.Here's a complete list of winners.Best Live DJ: Matt Anthony (who also hosts the Friday Night Sound Clash and Sunday's Jazz Pulse on WFPK)Metal/Hardcore Award: ColiseumCover Band of the Year: Billy Goat Strut RevueSinger/Songwriter of the Year: Cheyenne MizeHip Hop Artist of the Year: Jalin RozeEngineer/Producer of the Year: Dave Chale (DeadBird Studios)Rockers of the Year: Old BabyRoots Award: 23 String BandSong of the Year: "The Blonde Leading the Blonde" by Wax FangHere's the full list of finalists.