© 2023 Louisville Public Media

Public Files:
89.3 WFPL · 90.5 WUOL-FM · 91.9 WFPK

For assistance accessing our public files, please contact info@lpm.org or call 502-814-6500
89.3 WFPL News | 90.5 WUOL Classical 91.9 WFPK Music | KyCIR Investigations
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Biden approves disaster declaration following eastern Kentucky floods

Team Kentucky
A rescue team with a local fire department rescues flood victims in eastern Kentucky. (Screenshot from Team Kentucky press conference.)

President Joe Biden approved a disaster declaration for Kentucky in response to historic flooding in eastern parts of the state.

The state, local government and select nonprofit organizations will be eligible to receive federal funding to help share the cost of emergency protective measures.

The approved counties are Breathitt, Clay, Floyd, Johnson, Knott, Leslie, Letcher, Magoffin, Martin, Owsley, Perry, Pike and Wolfe.

Additionally, the entire state has been approved for federal funding to cost-share hazard mitigation measures. 

Rescue teams are working in the affected areas, as the death toll has continued to rise.

Brett H. Howard, with the Federal Emergency Management Agency, will be the coordinating officer for federal recovery operations in the area.

More assistance and funds could be approved following ongoing damage assessments.

As flooding continues, officials advise people to not drive or walk through stormwater.

Breya Jones is the Arts & Culture Reporter for LPM. Email Breya at bjones@lpm.org.