© 2024 Louisville Public Media

Public Files:
89.3 WFPL · 90.5 WUOL-FM · 91.9 WFPK

For assistance accessing our public files, please contact info@lpm.org or call 502-814-6500
89.3 WFPL News | 90.5 WUOL Classical 91.9 WFPK Music | KyCIR Investigations
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Stream: News Music Classical

Brady Seeks Re-Election To JCPS Board

Chris Brady is seeking another term on the Jefferson County Board of Education.

Brady officially filed for re-election Monday morning. He's the third person to file for the District 7 seat, along with S. Scott Majors and James A. Sexton.

The district encompasses southwest Jefferson County and includes Fern Creek and Jeffersontown high schools.

Brady's first term as school board member began in 2012. He's a medical technology trainer for Norton Healthcare, specializing in the EPIC electronic medical record system, according to the school district website.

In an email announcing his re-election campaign, Brady touted recent improvements in the district's graduation and drop out rates. He also acknowledged that the district is facing challenges, like high poverty rates, a growing population of foreign born students and the need to improve communication from district administration.

"If you have proper communication, you're going to be able to build trust," he said.

Sexton, a retired teacher and former principal at Jeffersontown and Eastern high schools, said he's seeking the District 7 seat to help improve school safety and push back against tax increases.

"I don't like to see new taxes added to the many, many residents in Jefferson County who don't have students," he said.

Majors could not be reached for comment.

The deadline to file for election to the Jefferson County Board of Education is August 9.

Two other seats on the seven member school board will also be up for election this November. They are District 2, occupied by board chair David Jones Jr., and District 4, occupied by Chuck Haddaway.

Neither Jones or Haddaway have yet to file for the election.

School board members are non-partisan.

Jacob Ryan is the managing editor of the Kentucky Center for Investigative reporting. He's an award-winning investigative reporter who joined LPM in 2014. Email Jacob at jryan@lpm.org.

Can we count on your support?

Louisville Public Media depends on donations from members – generous people like you – for the majority of our funding. You can help make the next story possible with a donation of $10 or $20. We'll put your gift to work providing news and music for our diverse community.