© 2022 Louisville Public Media

Public Files:
89.3 WFPL · 90.5 WUOL-FM · 91.9 WFPK

For assistance accessing our public files, please contact info@lpm.org or call 502-814-6500
89.3 WFPL News | 90.5 WUOL Classical 91.9 WFPK Music | KyCIR Investigations
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Filing Deadline for Kentucky Statewide Offices is Tuesday. Here's Who's Running So Far.

Kentuckians will know who's running for which statewide office by Tuesday afternoon.

Tuesday is the filing deadline for statewide candidate running in the May primary. The list is expected to get another name Monday afternoon when Democratic Secretary of State Alison Lundergan Grimes announces her plans.

Grimes is in her first four-year term as Secretary of State and could seek reelection to that office. The AP suggeststhat other possible offices Grimes would seek are governor and attorney general.

Each of those offices already has a Democratic contender filed to run in 2015. The Courier-Journal reports that in the governor’s slot, Democratic Attorney General Jack Conway has already raised $1.3 million for his campaign. Democrat Andy Beshear, son of Gov. Steve Beshear, has already raised $1.6 million for his campaign for attorney general.

In order to run for governor, would-be candidates only need the signatures of a running mate and two registered Kentucky voters. Candidates also have to appoint a campaign treasurer and campaign finance account.

Here’s a list of who’s signed up for statewide races so far:

Governor/ Lieutenant Governor

Jack Conway/ Sannie Overly (D)

Geoff Young/ Cherokee Schill (D)

James Comer/ Chris McDaniel (R)

Will T. Scott/ Rodney Coffey (R)

Hal Heiner/ KC Crosbie (R)

Attorney General

Andy Beshear (D)

Michael T. Hogan (R)

Whitney H. Westerfield (R)

State Treasurer

Neville Blakemore (D)

Jim Glenn (D)

Richard Henderson (D)

Rick Nelson (D)

Allison Ball (R)

Kenneth Imes (R)

Secretary of State

Stephen Knipper (R)

State Auditor

Adam Edelen (D)

Mike Harmon (R)

Commissioner of Agriculture

Jean-Marie Lawson Spann (D)

Ryan Quarles (R)

Justice of the Supreme Court

Janet Stumbo

Sam Wright

Ryland Barton is the Managing Editor for Collaboratives. Email Ryland at rbarton@lpm.org.