© 2024 Louisville Public Media

Public Files:
89.3 WFPL · 90.5 WUOL-FM · 91.9 WFPK

For assistance accessing our public files, please contact info@lpm.org or call 502-814-6500
89.3 WFPL News | 90.5 WUOL Classical 91.9 WFPK Music | KyCIR Investigations
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Stream: News Music Classical

JCPS Teacher Sarah Reed Wins '2015 Kentucky Teacher of the Year'

A third-grade teacher at Louisville's Field Elementary School is the 2015 Kentucky Teacher of the Year award.

The Kentucky Department of Education announced Thursday in Frankfort that Sarah M. Reed had won the honor from a pool of three finalists.

Reed received $10,000, among other perks. She will also represent the state in the 2015 National Teacher of the Year competition, according to a news release.

In August, 24 teachers were selected as 2015 Ashland Inc. Teacher Achievement Award winners. That was narrowed to nine top scorers and then whittled down to three.

Faye Smith, a math teacher at Campbell County Middle School, was named the 2015 Middle School Teacher of the Year; Joshua C. Underwood, a chemistry teacher at Mason County High School, was named the 2015 High School Teacher of the Year.


Can we count on your support?

Louisville Public Media depends on donations from members – generous people like you – for the majority of our funding. You can help make the next story possible with a donation of $10 or $20. We'll put your gift to work providing news and music for our diverse community.