© 2024 Louisville Public Media

Public Files:
89.3 WFPL · 90.5 WUOL-FM · 91.9 WFPK

For assistance accessing our public files, please contact info@lpm.org or call 502-814-6500
89.3 WFPL News | 90.5 WUOL Classical 91.9 WFPK Music | KyCIR Investigations
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Stream: News Music Classical

White House Recognizes Louisville's Chief of Innovation

Louisville’s Chief of Innovation and Economic Growth will be honored at the White House Tuesday as of Champion of Change.President Barack Obama’s Champions program honors community members doing extraordinary things. Nominees are invited to the White House to share their ideas for improving the future.Ted Smith is one of 13 municipal officials from across the country to be named a Local Innovation Champions of Change. The category honors those committed to creating a more open and innovative government through entrepreneurship.According to a statement from Mayor Greg Fischer's officer, "Smith was recognized because of his work in helping Imperium Health Management finance their start-up, a new coordinated care company that will assist doctors, hospitals and other healthcare providers establish and organize newly required Accountable Care Organizations." In a statement, the White House said Smith works to make local government a platform for innovation through open data and economic development. Smith has helped the city improve government transparency and he's worked with local entrepreneurs to develop new ways to get public data to the community. The Champions program features a different sector each week. Last year a Louisville parent, Myrdin Thompson, was recognized as a Champion for parents in education and this year she met with Mr. Obama.

  • Phil Bertolini, CIO and deputy county executive, Oakland County, Mich.
  • Mary Bunting, city manager, Hampton, Va.
  • Adel Ebeid, chief innovation officer, Philadelphia
  • Michael Flowers, analytics director, New York City
  • Carolyn Hogg, CIO, Fresno, Calif.
  • Michele Hovet, deputy city manager, Arvada, Colo.
  • Nigel Jacob and Chris Osgood, co-chairs, Mayor’s Office of New Urban Mechanics, Boston
  • Doug Matthews, chief communications director, Austin, Texas
  • Jay Nath, chief innovation officer, San Francisco
  • John Tolva, CTO, Chicago
  • Ted Smith, chief of economic growth & innovation, Louisville Metro Government, Kentucky
  • Rob White, director of economic development, Livermore, Calif.

Can we count on your support?

Louisville Public Media depends on donations from members – generous people like you – for the majority of our funding. You can help make the next story possible with a donation of $10 or $20. We'll put your gift to work providing news and music for our diverse community.