© 2024 Louisville Public Media

Public Files:
89.3 WFPL · 90.5 WUOL-FM · 91.9 WFPK

For assistance accessing our public files, please contact info@lpm.org or call 502-814-6500
89.3 WFPL News | 90.5 WUOL Classical 91.9 WFPK Music | KyCIR Investigations
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Stream: News Music Classical

Beshear Unveils Tax Commission Members

Governor Steve Beshear has put together a bipartisan group of 23 Kentuckians to serve on his tax commission.The group is made up partially of lawmakers from each party, although they won’t be able to vote on commission issues. Other members include former University of Kentucky president Lee Todd, banker and Republican fundraiser Marion Forcht, and Louisville businessman Junior Bridgeman.The commission's recommendations for changes to the state tax code are due by November 15, well after the current legislative session ends.“To throw this issue at reforming Kentucky’s tax system out into those roiling and boiling waters at this time would simply not allow this effort to get the fair and sincere consideration that it deserves,” Beshear says. Lieutenant Governor Jerry Abramson will lead the commission.“We will be having hearings around the state," Abramson says. "Going to gave six public hearings and there will be one in each of the six congressional districts and we’ll be putting out that schedule closer to the end of spring, going to the summer. The body, the commission will be meeting obviously in open session at all time.”Here is the list of all members of the Blue Ribbon Tax Commission:

  • Lt. Gov. Jerry Abramson, chairman
  • Roszalyn Akins, Lexington
  • Jason Bailey, Kentucky Center for Economic Policy
  • Jim Booth, Inez coal operator, major donor to Beshear's re-election
  • Junior Bridgeman, Louisville business
  • Rocky Comito, Shepherdsville
  • Luther Deaton, Nicholasville businessman
  • Marion Forcht, Corbin banker and Republican fundraiser
  • Rick Jordan, Walton
  • Pat Mulloy, Louisville
  • Dr. Sheila Schuster, Louisville
  • Stu Silberman, head of the Pritchard Committee
  • Dr. Lee Todd, former UK president
  • Leslie Weigel, Bowling Green
  • John Williams, Paducah
  • Joe Wright, Hazard
  • Cathy Zion, Louisville
  • State Rep. Rick Rand (non-voting)
  • State Rep. Jim Wayne (non-voting)
  • State Rep. Bill Farmer (non-voting)
  • State Sen. Bob Leeper (non-voting)
  • State Sen. Paul Hornback (non-voting)
  • State Sen. Gerald Neal (non-voting)