© 2023 Louisville Public Media

Public Files:
89.3 WFPL · 90.5 WUOL-FM · 91.9 WFPK

For assistance accessing our public files, please contact info@lpm.org or call 502-814-6500
89.3 WFPL News | 90.5 WUOL Classical 91.9 WFPK Music | KyCIR Investigations
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Stream: News Music Classical

Merger 2.0 Task Force Named

The 23-member panel tasked with finding ways to improved Louisville's merged government has been formed.Mayor Greg Fischer created the task force earlier this year, and said he planned to have representation from local government, law enforcement and urban and suburban fire districts. His appointees include the Mayor of Prospect, the Anchorage and Jeffersontown Fire Chiefs and members of Fischer's administration.The panel also includes critics of merger, including State Representative Darryl Owens.The task force will consider several issues, but two concerns have dominated most merger conversations. The first is whether to expand urban services such as garbage collection outside of the old city boundaries. The other is how to manage cash-strapped suburban fire districts. Many have merged to save money, but the city cannot force a merger on the autonomous districts.Here is a full list of task force members. The panel is chaired by former Mayor David Armstrong and former County Judge-Executive Rebecca Jackson.

  • David Allgood, citizen at large
  • Metro Councilman Rick Blackwell
  • Ish Burks, citizen at large
  • Charlie Clephas, Greater Louisville Central Labor Council
  • Dolores Delahanty, citizen at large
  • Todd Eberle, the Mayor of Prospect
  • Chief Greg Frederick, Louisville Fire
  • Col. Yvette Gentry, representing Chief Robert White
  • Councilwoman Cheri Bryant Hamilton
  • Julie Hardesty, representing the County Attorney
  • Ellen Hesen, chief of staff for Mayor Fischer
  • Councilman Dan Johnson
  • Anchorage Fire Chief Walter Lage
  • Jeffersontown Fire Chief Randy Lawson
  • Kristen Miller, chief of staff for Louisville EMS
  • Codes and Regulations Director Jim Mims
  • State Rep. Darryl Owens
  • Councilman James Peden
  • Ted Pullen, Director of Public Works and Assets
  • Businessman Ben Ruiz
  • Tierra Kavanaugh Turner, Greater Louisville Inc.

The panel will hold public meetings on:

  • 7 p.m. April 4th at the Kentucky Center for African-American Heritage, 18th and Ali
  • 7 p.m. April 11th at Southwest Government Center, 7219 Dixie Highway
  • 7 p.m. April 13th at Central Government Center, 7201 Outer Loop
  • 7 p.m. April 18 at  East Government Center, 200 Juneau Drive